• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Capitol Gains and Loss Confusion

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Capital Gains and Loss Confusion

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MI

I'm sure there is a simple explanation and I'm sure I missed it somewhere out here on the Internets. But if someone can please explain this, I sure would appreciate it!

I do some very basic trading on Scottrade. I'm not very good at it; and so far have not made any money, just lost.

My question/problem is this. How can I purchase a stock for say $500, sell it for $200 later and have to report it as a $200 gain!?!? It should be a $300 loss, shouldn't it???

I use TurboTax, so maybe it's a quirk in their system. But it got it's information from Scottrade electronically.

I don't know. I just don't get it. I didn't make any gains whatsoever and I still have to report gains???? Makes no sense to me.

Last edited:

anteater

Unless you are talking about Ann Arbor, it is capital gains and losses.

What you need is to enter your cost basis in Column e on Schedule D. I don't know TurboTax, but I'm certain that the "Help" will tell you how to do that.

I do some very basic trading on Scottrade. I'm not very good at it; and so far have not made any money, just lost.
Don't worry. Most people don't and never will. If you ever do, you will be beating the probabilities.

Unless you are talking about Ann Arbor, it is capital gains and losses.

What you need is to enter your cost basis in Column e on Schedule D. I don't know TurboTax, but I'm certain that the "Help" will tell you how to do that.

Don't worry. Most people don't and never will. If you ever do, you will be beating the probabilities.