• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Claiming Non-relative Dependent

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gobonas99

What is the name of your state? New York

I think I know the answers to my questions, I just would like confirmation from the tax gurus here (I'm a CPA, but do not practice tax).

My fiance and I lived together for all of 2007. He only had $660 in income for 2007 (on a 1099-Misc). He also received $501 per month during 2007 in Veterans Disability Compensation (non-taxable). He gave me $350 of his government check each month to pay bills (he kept $150 each month to pay for his car insurance, gas, and some entertainment....so he gave me about $4800 for the year).

Our joint monthly bills for rent, utilities, phone, food, and entertainment averaged $2000 per month (so roughly $24,000 for the year). Half of our joint living expenses is $12,000, plus the $1800 he kept for his car insurance/gas is $13,800...50% of that is 6,900...he provided 6012 + 660 = $6672, which is less than the 50% amount of $6900).

Since he only had $660 in income for 2007, he would not normally have to file taxes for 2007. But, because of the economic stimulus package, he would be eligible for the $300 rebate, due to his receiving $6k in VA benefits...and so he would need to submit his "dummy" tax return to get the stimulus check.

So my questions:
1. I believe that I can claim my fiance as a dependent on my 2007 tax return, since we lived together for all of 2007, he did not have more than $3400 of earned income in 2007, and I paid more than 50% of his expenses throughout the year. Correct?