• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Contractor (with home office) and Employee Mileage questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Peregrinator

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NM

Hi, I've read a lot of posts about deducting mileage as a contractor and W2 employee, but I haven't found one that quite answers my question. I'm a contractor for around 20 hours per week, part of my work is done in my home office and the other part is done at a clinic site. I am also an employee of a contracting agency that does the same type of work as my contracting job for 35 hours per week. The actual company location is 60 miles from where I live, but the job site(s) is closer to my house. The contracts last for 9 month periods with 3 months off, and then I may or may not be assigned to the same site again in the next 9 month period. It's possible that if there is no work near me, I will have to drive the 60 miles more or less to a site closer to the company's office or another city. So far I am not being reimbursed for any of my mileage by W2 employer.

A typical day goes like this:
1. I "commute" and spent time in home office prepping for afternoon clients and doing billing and service notes
2. I then drive from home office to the W2 job site and work there for 7 hours
3. Sometimes I will drive to 2-3 sites for W2 job within one day
4. I drive to 1099 clinic site from W2 job site
5. I drive from 1099 clinic site to home office and do more paperwork

I know I can deduct the miles for Trip 4 on Schedule C.
I'm pretty sure I can deduct the miles from Trip 5 on Schedule C also.