• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I need a Tax Identification Number?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

xbone

Greetings. I'm a full-time student in Mass and quite recently started doing freelance photography as a part-timer. Recently a company based in Arizona is interested in hiring me to do some work on a regular basis for their website. During our interview, it was mentioned in passing that they needed a TIN which I don't have. I thought my Social security number would suffice but I could be wrong. I don't have my own company nor do I think I need one since I'm not doing this full-time. Please help as I'm new to all this.
thanks!

LdiJ

Greetings. I'm a full-time student in Mass and quite recently started doing freelance photography as a part-timer. Recently a company based in Arizona is interested in hiring me to do some work on a regular basis for their website. During our interview, it was mentioned in passing that they needed a TIN which I don't have. I thought my Social security number would suffice but I could be wrong. I don't have my own company nor do I think I need one since I'm not doing this full-time. Please help as I'm new to all this.
thanks!
Your social security number IS your tax ID number.

CraigFL

I'm sure they want you to have a TIN so you are not considered an employee of theirs. You need to decide what kind of business entity you need to be and then apply to your state. While a SSN typically works for a sole proprietorship, my thoughts these days because of identity theft, you probably want to get an unrelated number...

xbone