• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Donations

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BustedBreaks

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MD

I posted this in another section and it was suggested that I post this here:

I am interested in starting a youtube channel where I post instructional videos on topics in math and eventually scientific topics. I would also like to have some sort of donation button where people, who are so inclined, can donate money to my "cause". I am a college student who plans on spending a lot of time in school so I'd like to find a bunch of funding options, this being one. I would also like to donate some percentage of the donations, if I get any, to a organization. I want to make this transparent and legal lest people think that I'm asking for donations for myself under the guise of it going to charity. How should I go about doing this?

My legal questions include: In the event that I get donations, what do I have to do in terms of tax? Do I have to report this income if it's less than a certain amount? Does the fact that I'm giving some to an organization matter? I am planning on keeping detailed records of donations and keeping a site where I can make all of the relevant information available for anyone who wants to see it. I plan on providing proof of enrollment etc, anything and everything to show that I want and am genuinely trying to be honest about it all.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MD

I posted this in another section and it was suggested that I post this here: