• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Education Deductions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CJane

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MO

I'm working my way through the HR Block software for my taxes, as I've done every year since 2005.

This year though, I was a full-time student for the first time. My 1098-T isn't ready yet, and neither is the form in the software, but I do know what my total billing was for tuition, fees, etc.

I was billed a total of 7550.00. I do receive student loans and a Pell and SEOG grant.

What impact does this have on my taxes? Last time I was a full-time student, I was also a dependent of someone else.

Help?

What you were billed is not as important as what you paid.

What did you pay which was a qualified education expense? Which credit do you qualify for? (Hope or lifetime learning?)

CJane

What you were billed is not as important as what you paid.

What did you pay which was a qualified education expense? Which credit do you qualify for? (Hope or lifetime learning?)
I'm technically in my first two years of school. An adult. Don't know which one that qualifies me for.

I paid my tuition in full via loans and grants. I included additional fees (tech fees and "ERF" fees since the school supplies the text books). I don't think I had anything additional unless I can deduct mileage (school was 50 miles from home, I've since switched to online classes).

Am I missing anything?

LdiJ

I'm technically in my first two years of school. An adult. Don't know which one that qualifies me for.