• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer taking taxes out but not paying IRS

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bbowen

I live in Georgia

So I have been working for this same employer since June 2006.
From June 2006-Dec 2006 I made about 5k - when I filled taxes I recevied a total of $300 as a refund

From Jan 2007-Dec2007 I made about 7k - when i filled taxes I received $32 from federal and I had to pay the state back

Does that sound correct?

Also yesterday I found out my employer has not been paying taxes that has been taken out of my paycheck. I contacted dept. of labor and they only have record of me working 5 months last year and 3-4 months this year. They say its because he is not report or paying taxes but I have a pay stub of taxes being taken out

Could that have caused the problem in why i had to pay last year and got so little back??

I am a college student with no dependents

davew128

I live in Georgia

From June 2006-Dec 2006 I made about 5k - when I filled taxes I recevied a total of $300 as a refund

From Jan 2007-Dec2007 I made about 7k - when i filled taxes I received $32 from federal and I had to pay the state back

Does that sound correct?
No idea whatsoever. Refunds have nothing to do with your gross income.

Also yesterday I found out my employer has not been paying taxes that has been taken out of my paycheck. I contacted dept. of labor and they only have record of me working 5 months last year and 3-4 months this year. They say its because he is not report or paying taxes but I have a pay stub of taxes being taken out

Could that have caused the problem in why i had to pay last year and got so little back??
Nothing to do with it.