• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fast Food Clusterbunk - the investment that ruined my life.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sourgr8ps

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I am in a bit of a tax mess right now. Years ago was the president of a fast food establishment, president of that corporation, and leaser of the property. 25%, shareholder along with two others, 25%, and 50% shareholders. THe agreement was that the name would be mine and I remain a silent partner, as I am a full time practicing dentist, I would only collect my portion of the profits.
However, this venture was perhaps the worst investment I could have ever made. According to my "partner" and employee, there was never any customer and we were quickly going into loss, (probably lying but there was no way for me to prove it).
Two years later, and many missed rents and monies lost, I decided to sell my part of the business. With having the 50% owner "take off" and nowhere to be found, I sold my 25% to the other partner/employee, but the required paperwork never made it to the necessary relevant department.
The NYS Dept of taxation and finance thought I was still owner/president/ full shareholder of this corporation for the next number of years.
While taxes were files accordingly, eventually my "partner" thought, no sales and only losses means filing was not necessary, and never file the last year of the corporations taxes.