• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I'm crying for help!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

ccisa

Thank you for taking time to take a look at this post! :)

I am desperately in need for your advice. Here's my situation. I am a translator in Ukraine, working for US-based translation companies. I have a fiance who is a US citizen and lives in the US. Recently he and I have decided to work hard for our future together, and now I want all the money I make off the US-based work to stay in the US. My question is: if my employers transfer my payments to my fiance's bank account, is that money taxable? If yes, how should we declare it and conduct tax payments? I am really looking forward to replies, because (and I'm sure you understand it too) this issue is very important to me. Please, if you know anything about it and can help me with my situation, do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you in advance!

Sincerely
Ekaterina

Last edited:

L

loku

If you are a citizen of the Ukraine and work in the US, you are subject to United States income tax on the amount you earn while in the US. I don’t know Ukraine tax law, but if it is like most countries, as a citizen of the Ukraine, you would be subject to Ukrainian tax on the income also, but you would get a credit for taxes you pay the US. You are taxable on that income in both cases, at the time you earn it, and what you do after that has no bearing on the tax.

If you transfer it into your fiancé's bank account with the intent of having him hold it for you, it is no gift to him; therefore, there is no gift tax.

C

ccisa

Thank you very much for your reply. :)