• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

irs overpaid me

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

karlw

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

The IRS overpaid me by 40k on my 2004 tax return and I never cashed the check. I was an independent contractor and listed 40k on the line for federal withholding when it should have been listed on estimated taxes already paid. They asked for copies of the federal withholding so we sent a letter telling them the mistake but they gave me credit for both fed withholding AND estimated taxes paid therefore I got a refund check of about 40k. Should I call them and tell them at this late date or has a statue of limitations already run for them to pursue me for penalties?

davew128

Unless this was done fraudulently, they had 6 years to claim a recovery of the overpayment from you from the time of payment.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

The IRS overpaid me by 40k on my 2004 tax return and I never cashed the check. I was an independent contractor and listed 40k on the line for federal withholding when it should have been listed on estimated taxes already paid. They asked for copies of the federal withholding so we sent a letter telling them the mistake but they gave me credit for both fed withholding AND estimated taxes paid therefore I got a refund check of about 40k. Should I call them and tell them at this late date or has a statue of limitations already run for them to pursue me for penalties?