• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

IRS wants $36K for 2004 - Lots of Good Questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JeffL

What is the name of your state? NORTH CAROLINA
State Filed Taxes in Question? ILLINOIS
Type of Taxes In Question? FEDERAL

---------------
Background:

(1) Filed 2004 Federal returns on 12/31/06 (20 months late)
(2) I calculated $29,029 due
(3) They calculated $35,047 due
(4) I was a contractor and self-employed that year (unlike all other years)
(5) I was not aware of the tax laws regarding self-employment
(6) I cannot pay $29,029 or $35,047 today nor in the immediate/foreseeable future
(7) I do have disposeable income of $750-$1000 a month that I could apply to the IRS
(8) I wish to AVOID Tax Liens, Garnishments, and Wage Deductions and/or asset (Bank Account) freezes

Questions:

(1) Is the $6,018 difference between what I figured and what they claim I owe interest, penalties and fines a reasonable one? In other words, I never received an adjustment letter saying that they refiled my taxes differently, so I should assume this $6K figure is the penalties and interest?

(2) Would it be worth finding a tax professional to review my return, make adjustments, and somehow get it under the magic number of $25,000 to quality for a streamlined IA?

(3) How can I best avoid a Tax Lien in any situation -- and is the lien easily removeable once the debt is settled? I just went through bankruptcy (Chapter 7) last year and I don't want to ding my credit any further?