• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Law School as a write off?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MarshallChris91

California

I have been a real estate broker for the past 3+ years. I decided to go to law school to specialize in real estate law. I will graduate in May with a certificate in real estate law. I have made $250,000 for the past 3 years and want to write off my law school expense of approximately $20,000 per year (the other half is a scholarship).

When I filed my taxes last year, my tax professional said I could not write off the $20,000 because it qualifies me for a new profession. However my sole intent to go to law school was not to become a full time attorney upon graduation but to learn more about real estate laws and become a better real estate broker.

From what I gather, there is not even any other education write off I can use. Because I am filing my taxes in the next few months, should I amend my 2011 tax to include the law school as a write off and apply it in 2012 as well? If so, is there a case or law I can use to justify this? Is there a high chance of being audited? Any information on this would be appreciated.

LdiJ

California

I have been a real estate broker for the past 3+ years. I decided to go to law school to specialize in real estate law. I will graduate in May with a certificate in real estate law. I have made $250,000 for the past 3 years and want to write off my law school expense of approximately $20,000 per year (the other half is a scholarship).