• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

MA - married filing separately. State requesting info about spouse's income

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Good evening,

I'm relatively new to MA (less than one year here) and recently married (last summer). For 2013 we're filing separately.

I have a MA-related question that came up while using TurboTax. It's asking for my wife's income for last year. Why is that necessary if we're filing separately? That does not make sense to me, but then I am unfamiliar with the way things are done here in MA. Is this a MA thing? For what purpose?

I moved from a no-income tax state so this is new to me. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!

davew128

If you have a question as to why the software is asking a question you should ask the people who write the software.

LdiJ

Good evening,

I'm relatively new to MA (less than one year here) and recently married (last summer). For 2013 we're filing separately.

I have a MA-related question that came up while using TurboTax. It's asking for my wife's income for last year. Why is that necessary if we're filing separately? That does not make sense to me, but then I am unfamiliar with the way things are done here in MA. Is this a MA thing? For what purpose?

I moved from a no-income tax state so this is new to me. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!