• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Nevada residence, CA tax?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

abtlaw

I am an attorney who will be moving to Nevada. Once I establish residence there, will I be taxed in CA on the following transactions?

1- Keogh withdrawals
2-income I earn from California courts litigation, which I handle from my Nevada office, with most of the work except appearances being done in Nevada?

Thank you

1. No. But, the state is desperately finding a way to say yes. I don't think they will be successful, but, you never know.

2. Yes.

(By the way, as an attorney, case law should be fairly easy to search on both items.)

abtlaw

Work done in NV can't be taxed

Thanks for the reply. I confirmed you are right as to #1 (Keogh), which is covered in the Revenue and Tax Code.

However, after some research, I would disagree with you on #2. In Newman v. Franchise Tax Board, 208 CA3d 972, the court ruled that the test of the "source" of income is where the services are performed. In that case, Paul Newman the actor, a Colorado resident, had a 60 day contract "on call" to do movie work in California, but he was actually only physically in California for 24 days. The court found that his income from the project was only taxable pro rata, based on the 24 days he was in CA.

I think that's pretty close!

Source income is the key. However, as you know, without the facts there are no issues and your facts were a bit light. If you are paid by hour, you may be able to allocate by invoice. However, if contingent fee or value billing you also need to look at:

Cal. Admin. Code, tit.
18, reg. 17951-5, subd. (b).