• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Non resident alien tax

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

defulio

What is the name of your state? Georgia

Hi. I am a non resident alien on an F1 visa, who has been living in Georgia since September 2004. Prior to that I lived in Texas with the same visa status. I earned a small income in both states during this year. I just discovered that I am required to file a Georgia as well as a federal tax form.

In both states, social security and medicare contributions have been deducted from my wages. I just read that F1 students are exempt from these deductions. Can you advise me as to how to reclaim these monies? I have been unable to find the relevant form online.

Is there a special tax form I should fill in in Georgia due to my status as a non resident alien? I haven't been able to find one.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Kirsty

abezon

You file a 1040NR & Form 8843 every year for 5 calendar years, then you file as a resident if you're still in the US. Most states don't distinguish between residents who file a 1040 & students who file a 1040NR. Consult a GA tax pro -- there should be someone near the University who deals with international student returns & knows the GA laws off the top of his/her head.

You are exempt from SS/medicare taxes on campus jobs that are performed to carry out the purpose for which you were admitted to the US. You pay SS/medicare taxes on regular jobs. Helpful link: http://www.irs.gov/faqs/faq13-6.html