• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Nonresident(?) State Tax

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

krishna_rao

What is the name of your state? NJ

Hello,

I am new to this forum and so, please, excuse if this is a repeat question. I am a H-1B nonimmigrant Software Engineer working at a client site in New Jersey for a Software Consulting Services firm registered and based in the state of Illinois. My company withholds IL state taxes. Is this correct? Or should my company withhold NJ taxes for me? I claimed nonresident status with IL and requested a refund. Separately, I paid NJ taxes alongwith the return filed to NJ. Did I do this correctly? Please comment.

Thank you for you time.

Krishna

FlyingRon

What is the name of your state? NJ

Hello,

I am new to this forum and so, please, excuse if this is a repeat question. I am a H-1B nonimmigrant Software Engineer working at a client site in New Jersey for a Software Consulting Services firm registered and based in the state of Illinois. My company withholds IL state taxes. Is this correct? Or should my company withhold NJ taxes for me? I claimed nonresident status with IL and requested a refund. Separately, I paid NJ taxes alongwith the return filed to NJ. Did I do this correctly? Please comment.

Thank you for you time.

Krishna
If you reside in New Jersey, then you are right that your company should be withholding NJ taxes. It sounds like you did the right thing when you filed.

abezon