• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Professional License and Tax Debt

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nurse2b09

Texas

Im currently a nursing student due to Graduate this June. Before I started school I went to an income tax prep store and had my taxes done later to find out whatever the preparer did really screwed up my return and left me owing money. For starters I didnt even notice that my address was wrong and did not receive a notice until I filed my return the next year. Hence the interest and penalties made the balance go to 3200. By the time I had found out I made a payment plan then only to let two weeks pass and I had lost my job and had no way to make good on my arrangement. I decided to make a change for the better and go into a field that I should never have to worry about getting and keeping a job- Nursing and try to rebuild my financial future. Here I am a few short months to graduation and have heard that I wont be able to get a license until I pay this. Is this true?? I would think that after it is issued and I begin working that if I didnt pay that they would levy or garnish my paycheck as without my license I probably will never have the means to pay this off. Is there anything that I can possibly do to get my license so that I can actually get a job to pay?????

LdiJ

Texas