• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions about offset refund - husband owed child support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

curious_me

What is the name of your state? North Dakota

My husband was in prison from March 2003 to June 2004. While he was gone, our daughter was born and I had to go on TANF. Since we were still married, the child support agency is making him pay the money back - about $1800.00.

He was only home for 4 months before he was arrested again - October 28, 2004. He is back in prison again. I had to go on TANF again (I am a full time college student).

When I filed our taxes for 2004, I had to file as married filing jointly to qualify for the earned income credit. Now, my refund has been offset to repay the child support he owed, and I will be receiving the $142 that was left over. I have filed the injured spouse form. I was wondering though, if I could have filed as separated since he only lived with us (our daughter and I) for 4 months, or would we have to be legally separated to do that?

I guess I just don't understand why they would take it away from me. Child support is supposed to make sure that there is money to raise the child. The money they are taking from my taxes is not coming back to me through child support. I need that money for my daughter, and child support is taking it away from me. I could understand if he was paying child support to another family, or even if we was home working right now. Does anyone have any advice? or comments??

Thanks.

Kansas4me