• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Sale by US Citizen of foreign residence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kingstarnes

What is the name of your state? SC

A US citizen wishes to sell his home/farm in South Africa. If the proceeds from the sale are transferred to an offshore trust/account and the funds are only used outside the US, is the sale/capital gain reportable to the US?

This individual indicated that they spoke to other accountants and was told that as long as the proceeds remained outside the US that they would not be taxable.

My understanding (I am not a tax professional) is that the only exemption a US citizen receives for a sale of a home is $250,000 for a primary residence regardless of where it is foreign or domestic.

I appreciate any response you have to offer.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? SC

A US citizen wishes to sell his home/farm in South Africa. If the proceeds from the sale are transferred to an offshore trust/account and the funds are only used outside the US, is the sale/capital gain reportable to the US?

This individual indicated that they spoke to other accountants and was told that as long as the proceeds remained outside the US that they would not be taxable.

My understanding (I am not a tax professional) is that the only exemption a US citizen receives for a sale of a home is $250,000 for a primary residence regardless of where it is foreign or domestic.

I appreciate any response you have to offer.