• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Selective Enforcement?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

oof

I am a small business owner in WI.

Recently I was audited by my states Department of Revenue, and due to a mistake I made (which I fully acknowledge) they have assessed me a substantial liability in excise taxes. However, I have evidence that the state has turned a blind eye to businesses virtually identical to mine which intentionally defrauded the state out of millions in excise revenue. Would I have a case for "selective enforcement"?

CdwJava

The state cannot be expected to audit everyone. The fact that other businesses have NOT been audited or hit with the same penalties as you have is not proof that you were UNLAWFULLY targeted.

You will have to try and another method of defense.

You should consider consulting legal counsel if the damage is worth putting up a fight and paying the costs of an attorney.

tranquility

Recently I was audited by my states Department of Revenue, and due to a mistake I made (which I fully acknowledge) they have assessed me a substantial liability in excise taxes. However, I have evidence that the state has turned a blind eye to businesses virtually identical to mine which intentionally defrauded the state out of millions in excise revenue. Would I have a case for "selective enforcement"?
One person's "selective enforcement" is another's prosecutorial discretion. You have a duty to follow the law. Making a constitutional due process argument will cost you far more (and would lose) than the cost of your taxes.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney

No .

oof

Wow, fast responses!