• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Seperated wife thinks she can claim head of household

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jtlind01

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kentucky
I am an active duty military soldier stationed at ft. knox ky, originally from louisville, ky. I was deployed in iraq from may 2007 until july 2008. during this time my wife lived in our home with our daughter in ga where i was stationed at the time. in april of 2008 before i came home she abandoned the dogs and the house and took off to michigan with my daughter. i returned on july 3rd and picked up my daughter from michigan until my wife snatched her out of daycare and took off to michigan with her again (which was apparently legal since we were still married). she had her for one week before i got an order for emergency custody and had the police remove my child from her home. that was mid october when i picked her back up and she has lived with me since. i give all this background because i just filed my taxes and filed as head of household. my wife called asking what i did for taxes and she informed me i can't claim my own daughter as a dependent. because i was deployed to iraq in jan 2008 and she didn't take off til late april it still counts as my daughter lived with me since they resided at my home that whole time and lived solely off my income right? on top of that the fact that i have sole custody of my daughter and provide 100% of her support since late july that would count as me being the head of household right. my wife and i have been seperated more than the last six months of this last calendar year so that qualifies me right along with the fact that i have sole cus