• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

State Tax Agency Garnish Social Security

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BigBird0000

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AZ

I was an arizona resident for a few years. (now I am in Nevada) The Arizona Department of Revenue now claims I owe money for past taxes. I say I owe about $1600, and they have $3400. My only income is Social Security Disability Income (myself and spouse).

Can AZ DOR garnish my Social Security check? AZ DOR is not a federal agency, so I am not sure where I stand.

I filed an Offer In Compromise, and they say my OIC doesn't qualify because my Collection Information Statement reflects the ability to pay, and does not meet the criteria set forth in ARS §42-1004.B. My OIC was for $300(about 20% of what I agree I owe, less than 10% of what they say I owed).

I have about $3/month left over from our SSDI checks, after paying for auto, housing, food and medical. I already have thousands of medical bills that I owe, and I put off getting medical treatment because I don't have the money to pay my copays.

My letters, and proof to them has just been ignored.

Can AZ DOR take my money that I need to live and support my Kids?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Antigone*

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AZ

I was an arizona resident for a few years. (now I am in Nevada) The Arizona Department of Revenue now claims I owe money for past taxes. I say I owe about $1600, and they have $3400. My only income is Social Security Disability Income (myself and spouse).