• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Student dependency status?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tdog7

I was 20 for most of the year and a part time student for one semester. I earned just over $8000 so did file my own return (for the first time, I'm new at this) and received all of my "federal income withheld" back, my dad claimed me as a dependent student because he doesn't know I took a semester off to work.

He got an IRS notice I was claimed twice, what does this mean? My research makes me believe I just fudged and claimed myself as a dependent when I shouldn't have (although I don't know what else I could file as because I didn't earn more than 50% of my living costs) and that's how this happened but I worry that it has to do with possibly not meeting the student requirement for the tax year. I just need clarification on what could have happened & the tax implications of this. Will we have to refund his deduction?

davew128

Apparently you didn't learn good enough research skills in your one part time semester. Your father was not entitled to claim you as a dependent if you weren't a full time student for at least 5 months.

LdiJ

I was 20 for most of the year and a part time student for one semester. I earned just over $8000 so did file my own return (for the first time, I'm new at this) and received all of my "federal income withheld" back, my dad claimed me as a dependent student because he doesn't know I took a semester off to work.