• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Tax Exampt, Living abroad, and Virgina State tax

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

remsikt

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

Hi. I am a contractor working abroad for 7 years now. We have had our taxes prepared by HR block for 5 of those years. We were told that we didn't even have to file taxes during the time we are over here.

We are fall under the tax exempt rule (well up to 86K this year). I am using File Taxes Online - Do Taxes FREE - File Taxes With TaxACT for filing my taxes this year (and did so last year). But when I put in all the numbers, the Virginia tax part is telling me we owe > $800. Even though I am getting a 400$ federal refund.

I also wrote Virginia and they said that we(well the person that replied) DO have to file taxes. EH. They also said that we are still full residence even though we don't live there. We owe no home, nor any financial ties to VA.

Am I missing something with the Virginia filing that would exempt me from paying any taxes or at least reduce the amount owed ? Some form or something?

We DO pass the physical presence test for the federal taxes.

Any anyone offer any tips ? Suggestions? I would greatly appreciate it.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

Hi. I am a contractor working abroad for 7 years now. We have had our taxes prepared by HR block for 5 of those years. We were told that we didn't even have to file taxes during the time we are over here.