• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this tax fraud?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hanson34

Wisconsin

I am a 20 year old student studying at a private college and paying my entire way through it. As a child I received an insurance settlement (in my name) for pain and suffering which at the time I came of age was worth $60,000. My parents made a college fund for me (not sure if it was in my name or not, but I think it was), worth $20,000. For the past 3 years I have been paying for college with that money. This includes housing, food, and tuition. Last summer I spent 3 months at home before returning to school. I pay all of my expenses sans insurance payments (my parents pay for my health and car insurance). On my FAFSA statement I am a dependent as with the financial aid at my school so I receive aid only to what they feel is appropriate for my parent's income bracket (assuming that they will contribute to my college education). Each year my college expenses are about $35,000, of which I pay entirely by myself (as previously stated), but my parents refuse to let me file taxes as an independent. I have no serious medical conditions and am a good driver, so I don't think there is any way that they pay more than half of my expenses and I no longer live with them, yet they still claim me as a dependent. They even asked how much I spent on textbooks so they could write it off on their taxes (textbooks that I bought with my own money). Are my parents committing tax fraud?

Last edited:

LdiJ

Wisconsin