• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Tax for self employment..

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dyanisis2

What is the name of your state? UTAH

I am a fulltime student, married with one child. On my 2004 tax return i only grossed around 23k and i get a refund of almost 4k. My 2004 was mostly just W-2 wages from my jobs. This year we're going to make almost the same, 23k, but the majority of this income was from my wife running a licensed daycare out of our home- self employment. I started computing taxes and it looks like we're only going to get a refund of around $1000- how can that be right? Is it possible to have almost the same gross income- especially how low it is- and have that big of a difference in refunds?

justalayman

You need to be concerned with the total tax bill, not what you get back.

Did you pay taxes on your wife's income? Did you pay the appropriate social security taxes on her income? If you are now a business owner, your tax deductions change drastically. You are trying to do the old comparing apples to oranges. It won't work.

dyanisis2