• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

W9 question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Netspeed

What is the name of your state? CA

I tried searching but "W9" and EIN" are under the 4 character limit.

I'm a mortgage broker and I have an EIN number for my corporation (not LLC). As I'm filing out applications with wholesale lenders, I have to fill out a W9. I put down my corporation's name but some lenders don't like it because it doesn't match what's on my license with the DRE (my full name). They want me to put my name on line 1. Does it matter what the name says on line 1 of the form seeing that I'm also putting down my EIN?

Thanks for any and all advice!

Keith

FlyingRon

The corporate EIN is right. Presumably you have a corporate license as well? If not you are probably operating illegally.

byrd42

Limited Liability Company (LLC). If you are a single member LLC (including a foreign LLC with a domestic owner) that is disregarded as an entity separate from its owner under Treasury regulations section 301-7701-3 enter the owner's name on the "Name " line Enter the LLC's name on the "Business name" line.

If the LLC is a corporation, partnership, etc., enter the entity's EIN.

Last edited:

Netspeed

FlyingRon---I have my corp listed as a DBA with the DRE so I'm good. So as long as the EIN is on the W9, it really doesn't matter what the name is correct?

Byrd42---I'm not an LLC. I'm an S-corp.

FlyingRon

FlyingRon---I have my corp listed as a DBA with the DRE so I'm good. So as long as the EIN is on the W9, it really doesn't matter what the name is correct?