• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Want to pay the IRS with a loan. Offer in compromise?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mynwhome

HI, I live in WA and currently own the IRS about $80k including all the penalties and interest on back taxes from 04/05/06/07.

I am on a new payment plan with them for $300 a month which was obtained after sending them all financials, bank statement etc. I was helped in this by an attorney who I am no longer being represented by.

I am newly married. My wife makes an ok wage but I am a realtor and make hardly anything at the moment. The future of real estate looks bleak for the next 3 years at least and so funds have been real tight around our house especially since I'm supporting a kid from my previous marriage.

My broker, who is a friend of mine, is willing to lend me $30k if it will make the IRS go away. He won't lend it to me otherwise as he wants to know that he is the only major debt i would have.

My question is, how do i propose to the IRS taking this loan for payment in full? I don't have the 20% needed to file an offer in compromise and fall above the income guidelines for a 656-A. Should I just call them up and say "hey, I have this loan available, want to make a deal?"

While I was talking with the local IRS agent about the payment plan I had mentioned offer in compromise and she said I wouldn't qualify. But this is 30K not 3k. Don't you think they'd want it? I'd have to imagine that a good portion of the 80K is penalties at this point anyway.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks What is the name of your state (Washington)?

LdiJ