• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can my video game get stolen?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Trevik

I live in Oklahoma but can't imagine that mattering for IP. I'm a video game developer and have quite a back catalog of games that I have never released out of fear they would get stolen. I create my games from the ground up. I do my own music, graphics and code so nothing is out sourced. I own every bit but if anyone tried to steal my games and say it was there work then they could sue me right? After all I have no way to actually prove the games are mine. I have never trade marked or copyrighted anything. Not sure if those are even methods you would use for video games. I read somewhere you have to publish them with the library of congress but on there website they stated the game needs to be finished which had me scratching my head because some games are never finished considering I keep adding to them. So would I need to publish every DLC upgrade patch for the game as a stand alone item? Any help would be appreciated.

quincy