• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need advice on county workplace harassment.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

I'm not sure if anyone can help me here but i don't really know where else to go.

I've been working for my county animal shelter for about 7 years now. I absolutely love working with the animals. The problems with my job started about 4 years ago. We had a management change as our director had left to take another position with another county.

Since then they hired a new manager and a new director to replace the last director. This new management is, really awful, for lack of a better phrase.

First off our turnover rate has skyrocketed. We literally can not keep employees. Not because the job is difficult but because of how toxic and abusive management is. Management loves to start and spread drama and gossip. They have this little clique where the rules only apply when they feel like it and to who they feel like it. One example is that my daughter had volunteered at the shelter for years, and when the time came for her to find a job she applied for the shelter. Despite the fact that she wouldn't be anywhere near my department, she was told she couldn't have the job because i would be working to closely to her. We both accepted that as it made sense. However, shortly after that they hired the son of one of the other ladies who works with them in the front office and hired a kennel staffs aunt to be the lead Animal Control Officer and then allowed that same kennel staff member to transfer so that he would work directly under his own aunt.