• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unpaid on call shifts

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jblaze424

What is the name of your state? ILLINOIS

I work in a restaurant. We have what are considered on call shifts. We typically get scheduled for 2-4 a week. For pm on call shifts, we are required to call in at 11am the same day to see if they need us for that night. Because of the on call shifts, it is difficult to make plans as we are unsure if we have to start at 330pm until 11am the same day. We do not get paid for calling in but it is mandatory to call at this time. While I don't typically have an issue calling in, lately we have been getting written up for failing to do so if we are busy at this time and are being threatened with termination. My question is, if we are required to set aside time for work, should we also be paid for that half hour/hour? I realize the call doesn't take that long but we cannot schedule doctors appointments or anything during these times and are expected to be available. Thank you.

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? ILLINOIS