• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How to get out of the union legally

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TOM1234

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? IL
I have been a journeyman plumber and with the union for 12 years. There is no work for Union plumbers currently. I have been out of work for over a year. I first looked into starting my own Union Plumbing business, but the requirements and rules are too much that a small nonunion business wouldn't be able to survive. I am looking into wanting to start my own NON union business, but want to know the rules first before I leave the union. I want to know how to proceed to leaving the union legally and also I want to know the consequences for leaving the union. I know I can legally leave the Union, but can I proceed to do plumbing non-union? Can they legally fine me? Can they legally take my pension away? Can they take my plumbing license away? I don't want to call the union and ask these questions because I don't want to get on the bad side of the union if I decide to stay Union.

justalayman

I know I can legally leave the Union, but can I proceed to do plumbing non-union?
yes

Can they legally fine me?
Not if you have properly withdrawn from the union. If you haven't, it could get quite expensive. If you make the mistake of not withdrawing, you will be considered to be a union member working in competition to the union shops and the union contract. That will put into a "member in bad standing". If you ever want to go back into the union, that will be expensive to overcome.

Can they legally take my pension away?