• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

The only employee of the three of us paying union dues!! :(

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Junior29

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

Hello, I work as a physical therapist in a small community hospital. Over the past 5 years I have paid union dues even though I never wanted to be part of a union in the first place, but this is not a voluntary matter. A few months ago I learned that the two other therapist (just three of us in all) within my department have never paid union dues. In addition, they have made ~3 dollars more an hour than me because their salary has never been capped by union contract - errrrr. I contacted HR, the union, and my supervisor, but everyone is being very dismissive about it :(

My question: Do I have any control over this matter? Do I have a position to fight my case? ex: reimbursement, salary increase. . . anything? I am considering leaving this position because I have been the only one underpaid and part of this union - not to mention I am part of two committees at the hospital, which the others are not, thus I feel I should be compensated for my responsibilities.

Sorry for rambling on - just a bit upset. Thanks in advance for you answers! :\

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York