• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How long does the S.C. take to make a decision?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

unipsychologist

I'm really eager to find out the outcome of the US Supreme Court appeal of the recent Florida cases that had committed felons under the age of 18 to life in prison without parole. But all news reports on the topic seem to have ceased. Does anyone out there have a sense of how long the USSC usually takes to return a decision like that? I realize that must depend on a lot of things, but I have no experience in these matters. Are we expecting an answer to come on the order of weeks, months, or years?

Thanks!

Mass_Shyster

I'm really eager to find out the outcome of the US Supreme Court appeal of the recent Florida cases that had committed felons under the age of 18 to life in prison without parole. But all news reports on the topic seem to have ceased. Does anyone out there have a sense of how long the USSC usually takes to return a decision like that? I realize that must depend on a lot of things, but I have no experience in these matters. Are we expecting an answer to come on the order of weeks, months, or years?

Thanks!
Using a sample size of 1, a case that was argued on November 11 of last year was decided on January 20 of this year. WOOD v. ALLEN, COMMISSIONER, ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, ET AL.

I found this at

http://www.supremecourtus.gov/opinions/09slipopinion.html

Ronin

What was noted above was a case that was actually accepted and argued at the Supreme Court, so this is not relevant to the question at hand. The question relates to an initial filing of a petition for writ of certiorari.