• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

33% Reduction in salary. Is this legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

sparger68

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? California

I have been running a small company for 2 years and I was recently told that if I wanted to keep my job I would have to accept a 33% reduction of my salary. I have no benefits besides my wage. I have been told that this reduction is effective immediately and it is non negotiable. There will also be no lightening of my responsibilities nor reduction of my hours. My job description will remain the same. My employer is very resistant to ex-employees receiving unemployment benefits and he always fights every claim. He has told me if I do not accept the reduction he will consider that my resignation. Since I would have quit in his eyes, I would not be elligable for unemployment benefits and he would fight any such claim that I would make. Does anybody have any advise? What are my rights?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Unless you have a bona fide contract (not an offer letter, a CONTRACT) that specifically says otherwise, they can legally cut your wages all the way down to minimum wage as long as they give you whatever notice is required by your state. (Most states only require that you be notified in advance of the reduction, which you were; I only know of two states that require x number of days advance notice and surprisingly enough, CA is not one of them.) Nothing in the law requires that a reduction of wages also must include a corresponding reduction of responsibility.