• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Boss taking out lunch breaks I'm not taking.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Kerelious

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

Hi, I have been working at my job for 5 years now. When I started I noticed my pay checks were a bit short of hours. Now when I started we used an old fashion punch clock for out times, so it didn't really bother me at first, I thought maybe it was bad math on my bosses part. But after a while I realized it was happening every paycheck, so I questioned him about it. His response to me was that he was taking out our lunch break, mind you, we don't get breaks. This job is a bar and I'm a cook, therefore I'm on call at all times that I'm on the premises. I never clock out for a lunch nor am I given 'lunch' break, If there is an order I must stop what I'm doing and make it. When he responded with this, I thought it was odd as it has never happened to me before, and I've been working these types of jobs for almost my entire working career. So I informed him that I didn't think this was right and that he shouldn't be taking time out of my paycheck for any reason. He shrugged it off, and as I didn't know a whole lot about the laws on this I put it to the back of my mind. Well I was doing some research for a friend and I ran into the department of labors laws on breaks and lunches. Well according to what I read its illegal for him to take these hours from me if I didn't clock out for them myself and if I didn't have a break where I am completely relieved of my duties for this time. As I said its now been 5 years that I've been at this job, and after reading this I really feel like I'm being cheat