• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

denial of unemployment benefits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

tracieteaches

South Carolina
I was denied unemployment benefits due to a "voluntary quit". I moved to New York to follow my spouse for his new job since he had no luck in finding one in South Carolina. Is this grounds for an appeal? We also had just lost his car due to his being out of work. We couldn't keep up with the payments of two cars on a SC teacher's salary. Others, general folk without knowledge of the law, my mother actually, told me that I couldn't get unemployment benefits because my occupation is teaching, but I have tried, to no avail, to seek employment as a teacher in New York. What do you think of my chances to win my upcoming appeal?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
"What do you think of my chances to win my upcoming appeal?"

Slim to none.

While there is a small handful of states that accept following a spouse beyond commuting distance as a reason for quitting that still qualifies you for benefits, SC is not one of them. (For that matter, neither is NY.)

In the large majority of cases, if you quit, you don't get benefits.

T

tracieteaches

Actually, I just read an article that says it is "good cause" for NY UI benefits if you quit to follow spouse out of state.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Well, my source is a couple years old. There've been a couple of changes to NY law since it was published.

That's the exception rather than the rule, though. In your case, it's SC law that applies anyway. And they've already denied the claim.

I'm not saying it's reasonable. But all I can do is tell you what the law says.

T

tracieteaches