• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I have rights?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Delvianna

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I'm an independent contractor where I get paid based off orders for a restaurant. I take incoming calls (never outgoing) and when someone puts in an order for food, I get a certain amount per order. Here's where I have the problem. The phone system isn't categorized, so when you call in the number, it wont say "press 1 for customer service, press 2 to have your order taken". So we get calls meant for managers, people inquiring about what the specials of the day are, problems with orders, problems with credit cards etc. All these calls are NOT paid, since they aren't orders. But because the phone system isnt set up, we are acting like a switch board to get the call where it needs to go.

Is this legal? Or is it because I'm an independent contractor, that I have no rights? If I take 20 calls an hour, 7 of them will be unpaid. This isn't like, sitting around because the phone isn't ringing, this is talking to customers, sympathizing with customers on why their order is late or whatever there is to do when they call in. This IS work!

I'd love to know if I have any rights here as I thought that ever call would be a potential order, not that I would be partially working for free.

justalayman

If you are legally an independent contractor it is totally legal. You have the option of accepting the terms of your contract or refusing it though.