• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Doctors Note

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JamnJenn

What is the name of your state? Mass

I have been working at a large insurance company for 2 years now. We are given a bank of PTO time in January every year. In Feburary of this year I fell Ill and was out of work, per a doctors note, for 10 days. Towards the end of the 10 days I was feeling better and phoned my supervisor to advise him that I would be coming back to work a little earlier then expected. He advised me per our Human Resources that I cannot come back to work until the date specified on the note. That LEGALLY they could not allow me to come back to work.
During the time that I was out, I had asked if I could have my doctor fill out all the necessary paperwork for FMLA so I did't have to use my PTO time and my supervisor informed me that I could not because I wasn't going to be out long enough.
Now, that supervisor has moved on to another company and my new supervisor and department heads have been reviewing all of the records kept from the past supervisor. I am now being told that I need to be given and written waring for too many 'unscheduled' absences this year. Mind you, I have 5 weeks of vacation time I am accruing through the year and have only used those 10 days.
My new supervisor has told me that I did qualify for FMLA but too much time has passed from Feburary to now and NOW I don't qualify. There is no documentation in any of the files that A) I was offered FMLA as an option or B) That I had asked about it.