• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer threatens to make us pay for mistakes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mashley80

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

Hi,
I work as a receptionist/scheduler for a medical office. We were told by my supervisor today that in the next month, at our next meeting, that they were going to make us employees pay for computer mistakes. Meaning that if we made too many mistakes that resulted in our clients' being scheduled wrong, they were going to have US pay for those appointments. This can range anywhere between 25-45 dollars an appointment. I have never heard of this, nor do I agree with this. I try my best at my job, but at times there is human error. Is this legal? I don't understand why I would even work at place making only 9 bucks an hour and having to pay for my mistakes. Thanks a bunch.

sandyclaus

Hi,
I work as a receptionist/scheduler for a medical office. We were told by my supervisor today that in the next month, at our next meeting, that they were going to make us employees pay for computer mistakes. Meaning that if we made too many mistakes that resulted in our clients' being scheduled wrong, they were going to have US pay for those appointments. This can range anywhere between 25-45 dollars an appointment. I have never heard of this, nor do I agree with this. I try my best at my job, but at times there is human error. Is this legal? I don't understand why I would even work at place making only 9 bucks an hour and having to pay for my mistakes. Thanks a bunch.