• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer will pay me under the table only!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

aquarius

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

Hello everyone. First time poster here. I have a couple issues with an employer. I work part-time, and I'm also a full time student.

1) I started working for a small auto repair business about 2 1/2 months ago. I am the only employee, besides the owner of the business. Since I started working there, the owner of the business refuses to send my tax forms into the IRS. I worked for him for the first month, and he paid me with a personal check. He told me that he would get me the tax forms for me to fill out. I filled them out and there they sat in his office for 6weeks. He continued to pay me with a personal check during the 6 weeks.

I asked him about the tax forms, and he said that, "My accountant will charge me too much to do your payroll. Therefore, I will send all of your tax info. in at the end of the year. Just be sure to set money aside, because you will have to pay a lot of taxes then. You will be paid by a personal check for the rest of the year."

Now, I know that this is definately illegal. But, I don't think he can really get into that much trouble. From what I've been able to dig up on this, he will just get fined $24 by the IRS for not reporting me as an employee.

Therefore, I have a few questions:

Is this right?
Is that all that can happen?
Why would an employer do this? (I told him I want to be legit and pay my taxes. I do not want to work under the table)

2) With the situation above, I have some additional concerns as a result: