• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer wont verify employment or wages

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fros222

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? GA

I worked as a student assistant at my university's library for two and a half years. I graduated this past May, and since my job was a student position, it ended once I left. I went and filed a claim for unemployment, but they wont verify my wages. I've submitted to the DoL a copy of my last pay statement, and a two copies of my most recent W-2. My employer withheld taxes from my check, and I've consistently filed my income taxes. I was told, if I was under "contract" status, my employer wouldn't have to report my earnings. But I didn't have to fill out any contract, except to periodically verify that I was still enrolled at least half-time. Also, this wasn't a Student-Aid-type deal where my employment was a stipulation of any grants or loans I received.

I was told there's a wage investigation being done, but if after the investigation I'm still without unemployment, do I have any legal recourse? I know there aren't any laws requiring employers to verify employment, but I have a right to unemployment, right? And wouldn't this come under tax evasion for an employer to not verify my wages so they wont have to pay taxes on it? I'm assuming the latter is a matter for the IRS and not an individual, but that's basically the effect of them not verifying my earnings.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I worked as a student assistant at my university's library for two and a half years. I graduated this past May, and since my job was a student position, it ended once I left.