• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Exempt employee forced reduction in hours

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cb_in_ca

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a computer systems analyst in California working for a local city government. I am an exempt employee and have been since I started my job. I have been "On-Call" since the day I started, 6 years ago, and I regularly work 50-60 hours a week and I have been very happy doing so from that first day.

Recently negotiations between the city and my union broke off and our union members were given a 4% pay increase based upon what was negotiated. This comes after our union conceeded to forgo pay increases last year due to economic conditions.

As a result of the 4% increase, the city has sent a letter to some, but not all, union members stating that since economic conditions will not allow the city to be able to afford such a raise that my position will be immediately and permanently reduced to a 0.9 Full Time Employee (FTE) and my work hours will therefore be reduced from 40 to 36 hours per week and that I will officially work 8AM-5PM Monday - Friday with alternating Fridays off but that I am still an exempt employee and therefore I am expected to, in reality, remain On-Call as needed as well as I am expected to continue to work as many hours as are necessary to complete my job IE 50-60 hours a week even though officially my hours are being reduced by 10% to offset my 4% pay rasie resulting in a net pay reduction of 6%.

So my questions are:
1) Since my hours are being reduced to compensate for my raise, am I still really an exempt employee?