• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Expired TN visa and unemployment benefits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

unemployedcanad

What is the name of your state? Michigan
I am a canadian resident and a citizen. I have worked in the US for 10 years but have always lived in canada and filed taxes in both countries.

My TN visa expired on the 10th of May 2008 .I was getting unemployment from US , well only one cheque to date and then today I got a letter stating that i need a to give them a valid visa to continue unemployment . i can only work in the US on a TN visa if I am employed So as of now I do not have a visa as I turned it in to INS when I lost my job.

If one works on a TN visa and can they collect Unemployment if the visa is expired. I have paid into the system for many years at least for 10 years now and what is the recourse to appeal I am referring to US unemployment benefits

Also as I am a canadian resident and a citizen can I collect unemployment in canada even though I have never worked in canada

ShyCat

To be eligible for Michigan unemployment compensation, you must be able to work and actively looking for employment. Without a valid work visa, you are unable to work, therefore you are ineligible for unemployment.

eerelations

If you were paying Canadian EI taxes all along, then you would be entitled to Canadian EI benefits. However, to get them, you must be living in Canada, and acitvely seeking work in Canada.

commentator

commentator