• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fair "on call" compensation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ForeverZ3RO

North Carolina

Here's my situation:
I work in IT regular 8am-5pm work hours pay per hour. Every 4 weeks we are required to be "on-call" on non working hours 5pm-8am. This involves fixing any issues a site calls us about. We must answer the phone almost immediately. This also includes calls we must drive to and fix onsite whether it be 3 hours away or 5 minutes, almost immediately. This basically cuts out family events, movie theater trips, fishing trips, etc. as we have to be ready and available to answer the phone at any time and possibly drive out to the site. We get no extra pay or compensation other than the base hours worked. Its a huge inconvenience with no incentive. Should we be getting extra "on call" pay compensation?
I hope I've given proper information on this situation . Thanks in advance for your help!

Last edited:

LdiJ

North Carolina

Here's my situation: