• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced usage of vacation time for salaried employees

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DamonS

I am a salaried store manager for my company. My paycheck says that I am paid for 40 hours. My employer wants us to work 48 hours a week no matter what. If we do not work 48, say we work 40, we are required to use 8 hours of vacation or sick time to make up the difference. When you receive your paycheck for that week it will say that you worked 32 hours and took 8 hours of vacation. also we are made to punch in and out so that hours are recorded. In Tennessee

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
It is legal in all 50 states for an employer to require both exempt and non-exempt employees (salaried has no legal meaning) to fill in shortages with PTO or vacation when you do not work an entire workweek, however many hours your company considers a workweek.

Many payroll systems automatically fill in with 40 if a specific number of hours is not indicated. It does not mean that you are only being paid for 40 hours.

DamonS

thank you for the reply. - i am sorry if i am repeating myself here (just trying to get it straight in my head)

According to payroll the work week is 40 hours, being that I am an exempt employee, this does not really apply to me, I work what is needed. I understand that i can work more that the stated work week of 40 hours and still get paid the same. My issue is that if i work the min 40 hour week then we are told to take vac or sick time to reach his 48.