• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced to work off the clock

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

robjaime

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kansas

I have been working for a company here part-time for almost 3 years now. It's always bothered me that we are expected to take deposits to the bank at the end of every shift we work, regardless of time of the day, etc. The round trip from work to the bank and back is at least 15 minutes. My question is whether or not they can legally expect this from us without paying us for the bank run? 15 minutes per shift adds up to a lot over time. So, we have to clock out when our shift ends, then take the deposit to the bank before we are truly done working. Is this legal? What, if any, actions could I take?

OHRoadwarrior

In many businesses that is normal practice. You are deemed to be doing it on the way home as a courtesy. You could probably lodge a complaint with the labor dept and get paid. Do not be surprised if you get fired the next day though.

Beth3

Yes, you should be paid for that time - unless the bank is truly on your way home. You are free to file a complaint with your State's Department of Labor/wage and hour division for your unpaid time.

xylene

unless the bank is truly on your way home.
Would the direction of the bank relative to the employees home matter if say they lost the deposits? :cool:;)

Of course making the bank deposit is part of their work duties, irrespective of if it is 'on the way'.

eerelations