• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hired as contractor without benefits

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sunviz

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? North Carolina

I am based in NC and work as an online contractor for a European company based outside the US. Apart from the title "contractor", I perform all the tasks of an employee: I am subject to management and strict hours: 40-hour work weeks, 5 days a week, etc etc.

I have been with the company for 5 years. However, as a contractor I am not entitled to any benefits:
no sick leaves, paid vacation days, health insurance, maternity benefits, etc. I get paid on an hourly basis, which is sent via my bank account at the end of every month.

I would just like to know if this is illegal/ something I can contest on the basis of misclassification. The problem here is that the company is not registered in
the US. Do I have a case?

Thank you!

AdjunctFL

I would just like to know if this is illegal/ something I can contest on the basis of misclassification. The problem here is that the company is not registered in
If you worked for a domestic employer you could file Form SS-8 with the IRS and ask for a determination whether you are an employee or subcontractor. However, the IRS has no jurisdiction for FICA/Medicare issues over a foreign employer who is paying you as a self-employed individual. Your only choices are to continue the relationship or find other employment.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney