• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My employer says I need to pay for merchandise shortages

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Wyldrush

What is the name of your state? Florida

I am a manager for a large furniture retailer. We generally have the store merchandise audited on a quarterly but of course the corporation falls behind on audits and sometimes we go over 6 months without an audit.
Now the main question I have is... In the last 4 years I have never been short on an audit, generally I have several thousand dollars in overrages and I do not recieve compensation back for that, but rather the merchandise is added to my inventor. NOw I am short and the company wants me to pay for the shortages which is over $4,000. They use a formula of adding your overages and shortages. If I am over more than short, I pay nothing and get no money back. This time after over 10 audits I am now short more than I am over and the owner of the company wants to charge me a percentage. I feel this is illegal despite the company makes you sign a contract at time of promotion to store manager that one of the things your responsible for is shortage of merchandise based on audit outcomes.

Can my employer deduct the loss from my check? If they can, can I claim this as a type of loss on my income taxes? Do I have legal action??

In past I did have to pay for an check the corporate office authorized me to cash for a customer making a payment on their account. It was a tax refund check and the check aparently was stolen from someones mail box and the person who claims it was there check was using a fake ID. I ended up paying $1500 for that, is this legal as well???

eerelations