• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My employer wants to get rid of me

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Staten.Islander

I'm not sure about any legal recourse I might have because I've received conflicting information about this, but my employer has apparently been trying to get me to quit.

I'm an armed security officer here in New York and I've worked for my present employer since 2001.

I hurt my back while at work July 14th 2009, and this subsequently led to a blood clot and hospital stay. When I attempted to return to work 1-1/2 months later it became obvious that through certain actions and treatment from the front office that the company I work for didn't want to take me back. I took a friend's advice and decided to push for Worker's Compensation, which apparently made my employer unhappy. I also had no choice but to file for unemployment.

During this time my employer also refused to give my salary info to the hospital medicaid officer when I was attempting to get financial aid.

Finally on October 26th I was given a different position/location at a lower salary.(I'd been told that my previous position was no longer available and that it was company policy to transfer an employee who filed for worker's compensation).